Q: When are parking permits required?
A: Parking permits are required Monday through Sunday at all times.
Q: Where can I buy a parking permit and how much does it cost?
A: For more information about parking permits, including how to buy them and cost, visit the Parking at IVC page.
Q: Is my Saddleback College parking permit valid at IVC?
A: Yes, semester and annual parking permits for students and staff are valid at IVC, Saddleback College and ATEP. However, daily permits, volunteer permits and temporary/visitor permits are only valid at the campus where they were issued.
Q: I have heard about a GRACE PERIOD during the first two weeks of each semester when I do not have to have a permit on my car. Is this true?
A: No. There is no grace period at IVC. Parking permits are required Monday through Sunday at all times. Parking regulations and state laws are enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Q: What if I use a different car or forget to bring my permit?
A: It is common for students to temporarily change vehicles and, as a result, forget their parking permit. If this happens to you, stop by the Campus Police Department during normal business hours and we can issue a temporary parking permit at no cost to you. If our office is not open or you are unable to get to our office, stop by one of the Daily Parking Permit Machines and buy a daily permit.
Q: What if I lose my parking permit, or what if it is stolen? Will I get a free replacement permit?
A: No. Parking permits are your personal property just like books, calculators and jewelry. To replace a lost permit, you will have to buy another. As for stolen permits, report the theft to Campus Police. If the permit is stolen off-campus, we will need a police report from law enforcement where the theft occurred. Depending on the circumstance of the crime, a stolen permit may be replaced free of charge.
Q: I have a disabled placard. Do I still need a parking permit?
A:Yes, California Education Code 67301 requires disabled students, as well as those who transport disabled students, buy a parking permit for the college they attend. Student with a parking permit and disabled placard displayed are able to park in parking spaces designated for staff in addition to student and disabled parking spaces.
Q: I ride a motorcycle. Do I have to buy a permit?
Yes. Also please be aware that motorcycles are restricted to parking within designated spaces in lots 2, 8 and 10.
Q: OK so I got a parking citation, now what do I do?
A: You MUST do one of the following within 21 days of receiving the citation:
- Pay the citation by mail using the envelope provided with the citation, online, or in person at the Parking Services Office in CP 100.
- Contest the citation if you believe it was issued in error. You can do this by filing an Initial Administrative Review ONLINE or at CP 100. This appeal process is in accordance with the California Vehicle Code, section 40215.
Q: What happens to a citation that is not paid?
A: If a citation is not paid or appealed within 21 days from the date it was issued, a Notice of Delinquent Parking Citation to place a hold on the vehicle registration is mailed to the registered owner of the vehicle. Failure to respond to this notice results in a hold being placed on the vehicle registration through the Department of Motor Vehicles, and a late fee will be applied. If you have five or more unpaid citations at any time, vehicle(s) are subject to immobilization and/or impoundment until you pay the citations and all penalties and impound fees in full.
Q: I have other parking questions I need answered. When is the Campus Police Department open?
A: Our office hours are 8 am to 6 pm Monday through Thursday and 8 am to noon Friday. If you need emergency assistance, contact campus police anytime at 949-451-5234. For non-emergency inquiries, you can call 949-451-5200. Parking permit- and citation-related questions can be directed to Police Services Specialist Kyle Fraser at firstname.lastname@example.org or 949-451-5508.
Q: I have online/distance learning course and my midterm/final is on the IVC campus. Do I still need a permit to park?
A: Yes. A parking permit is required to be displayed on all vehicles parking in student or staff spaces at the IVC campus, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Q: Can I leave my vehicle on campus after 11 pm or overnight?
A: Prior special approval is required for vehicles left on campus between 11 pm and 6 am. You must contact campus police at 949-451-5200 prior to your vehicle staying on campus late or overnight. If no prior approval is obtained, your vehicle is subject to a citation for overnight parking.
Q: What is “parked backwards” and why is it enforced?
A: A regulation prohibiting a vehicle parked backwards in a stall or a regulation requiring that a vehicle is parked heading into a stall means that a vehicle parked in a stall must be facing forward toward the front of the stall and not pointed towards the aisle or lane. The position of the vehicle in the stall is what determines if a vehicle is parked backwards, not how the vehicle entered the stall, either by backing in or pulling through to the next stall. It is a common regulation in cities and colleges across the United States, and is regulated by local authority. This regulation exists at every community college in Orange County. At IVC it can be found in Administrative Regulation 3450, Section 412. Warnings for this violation are printed on daily permits and printed on the flier that accompanies semester and annual permits. The regulation is posted on signs at each entrance to IVC parking lots. There are several reasons why this regulation exists and it is enforced.
There are several reasons why this regulation exists and it is enforced.
- Safety: Parking backwards may seem safer to the driver of a vehicle parked in such a position because of the belief that the driver has greater visibility upon exiting the stall. This may or may not be true depending on the type of vehicle driven out of the stall and the type of vehicles parked on either side of that stall. However, when parked in this position there is no indication to vehicles or pedestrians in the aisle or lane -- which have the right of way -- that a vehicle parked in this position is about to leave the stall. Reverse lights on vehicles are an international standard and give warning to other drivers and pedestrians of the driver’s intent to back out of the stall. Drivers who pull out of stalls tend to drive forward out of the stall at greater speeds than if they were cautiously backing out. Cities employ this regulation mostly on one-way streets with diagonal parking stalls, because the vehicle exiting the stall would be exiting against the flow of traffic on the one-way street. Colleges employ this regulation for safety purposes due to the high volume of vehicles and pedestrians in the parking lots.
- Property: The South Orange County Community College District does not want its property or the property of others damaged by drivers backing their vehicles into parking stalls. When backing out of a stall, there is a wide lane or aisle behind the vehicle, allowing ample room for a driver to maneuver their vehicle. When backing into a stall, there are often vehicles parked on either side of the open stall. In many stalls there are also parking blocks or tree planters. Backing vehicles into these positions can be difficult with less room to maneuver and the likelihood of striking another vehicle or object is greater than if the vehicle is driven forward into the stall.
- Congestion: All vehicles parking the same way decrease traffic congestion in the lots. Backing into a stall takes longer than pulling forward into a stall, and can cause backup in the aisles or lanes while other drivers wait. Backing out of a stall does not take as long as backing in because there is greater room to maneuver the vehicle.